Menu 26 June 2017

Menu 26 June 2017

#CookingCadets campaign

This week sees the launch of my campaign to encourage families to cook with their children more.  Teaching children to cook is not only a fun activity  it is a valuable life long skill.  In addition you can encourage  them to make healthier choices and think about the food on their plate.  Other benefits include;

  1. Encouraging a child to explore new tastes, textures and smells
  2. Developing early maths skills
  3. Developing fine motor skills
  4. Exposure to different cultures
  5. Fun quality time with you
  6. A sense of achievement
  7. You can eat what you make!

Over the course of the next few weeks I am going to start cooking once every week with my children.  I am going to share what we cook and how it goes via Twitter, Instagram and Facebook using the hashtag  #CookingCadets.  Please follow our progress and let me know what you think of our endeavours.   It would be great if you joined in and shared your experiences of cooking with your children.  I plan to share our progress on a weekly basis.

Weekly Menu

The start of another busy week which sees the children’s schedule sky rocket as school tries to fit in everything before the end of the school year.  Looking at this weeks menu nearly all of the evening meals are super quick even by my standards!

Monday is meat free in our house so we often end up with pasta and this week is no exception.  This is a really tasty pasta dish and it requires absolutely no cooking.  It is quite heavy on the garlic so if you have a date or an important meeting at work the next day it is probably one to avoid!

Tuesday sees smoked salmon risotto.  This is very quick and straightforward and does not have many ingredients making shopping for it a doddle.  The children really like it as they love smoked salmon and are always pleased when it comes around.

Wednesday sees flapjacks with dates which I made with my three year old daughter.  I made these as part of my campaign to get people cooking with their children.  These are really easy as she did most of it herself with only a little bit of  help from me.  We had a great time making them and she was really proud that she had made her brothers after school snack.  You can follow my campaign under the #CookingCadets on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Thursday is Indonesian style fried rice.   It is really quick to make, especially if you have left over rice.  It is also dead easy to adapt to what you happen to have in the fridge which suits my occasional chuck it all in and see what happens tendencies.  Anyway I wrote this version down when I did it so I could share it which is a happy result as it was particularly successful!

Friday sees curry which often happens, maybe a throw back to my student days.  This a nice mild Chicken curry, similar in spice level to a Korma with that same creaminess.

I hope you enjoy this weeks recipes.

Thanks ChilternEats

Leave a comment