Chocolate orange ice-cream

chocolate orange ice-cream

I love ice-cream and we quite often have it for dessert at the weekends.  I buy ice-cream but I also like making it especially since I was bought an ice-cream maker which takes away alot of the hard work!  This came about as I have something of a weakness for Terry’s chocolate orange and I thought I would see if I could re-create the flavour in ice-cream.  I was really pleased with the result so I thought that I would share it with you.  You could make it even if you don’t have an ice-cream maker but then you will need to break up the ice crystals with a fork every hour for 4 to 5 hours.

Ingredients

600 ml double cream

250 g caster sugar

3 tsp orange essence

200 g milk chocolate broken into small pieces

Method

  1. Pour the cream into a large bowl.  Add the caster sugar.
  2. Whisk the cream and sugar until the sugar has disolved.
  3. Add the orange essence and mix until combined.
  4. Pour the mixture into your ice-cream machine and churn for about 25 minutes.  5 minutes before the end add the chocolate chips.
  5. Transfer to a plastic tub and freeze for a couple of hours before serving.  You can keep the ice-cream in the freezer for at least a year.

 

Leave a comment