Menu 3 July 2017

menu 3 july

 

As we head towards the schools breaking up for summer and the weather gets warmer I have less time and inclination to cook meals that require a long time in a hot kitchen.  I want to spend more time out of doors with the children so meals this week are super simple.

This is my second week of cooking with my daughter and there have not been any disasters yet.  This week she helped prepare a simple pasta sauce, cutting up all of the vegetables apart from the onion under close supervision.  She really enjoyed it and was very proud to be able to tell her cousin that she had cooked his tea.  She is also quite a fussy eater when it comes to vegetables but because she cooked it she tucked in without compliant!  Find out more on Wednesday when I publish the recipe.

Brocolli and Mushroom stir fry starts the week off well.  This is a quick and tasty dish, made even quicker if you use the straight to wok noodles rather than ones that you have to boil first.

Chicken tikka salad is great as it allows me to eat curry which I love even when I find it too hot to contemplate a lot of curries!  It is also pretty healthy being pretty low in fat.

Lunch on Thursday will be rosemary and butter bean hummus which is a slight twist on the classic which I think works really well.

Friday is again pasta night.  This weeks version prawn, tomato and avocado pasta is a really fresh and light.  The warm pasta helps the flavours from the other ingredients really meld together well.  It is best eaten hot but the leftovers make a good lunch the following day.  You should not try to reheat it.  You can swap the prawns for mozzarella which works equally well, I often do!

Leave a comment