Tamarind and lemongrass beef stir fry

tamarind and lemongrass beefAs a family cook I love stir frys.  They are so quick to prepare and so varied.  I know that I always have the ingredients for a stirfry as you can pretty much add whatever you have got to hand.  That said some of my stir frys are more successful than others and this one is particularly good.  I do vary the vegetables that I use but I make the accompanying sauce pretty frequently as it is really piquant and tasty.

Ingredients

500 g stir fry beef

1 onion finely sliced

2 tbs groundnut oil

2 lemongrass stalks, cut as finely as you can

1 green chilli finely diced (more if you like it hot)

1 red pepper finely sliced

200 g courgettes sliced

175g mini corn cut in half lengthways

3 tbs tamarind

2 tbs kicap manis

1 tbs fish sauce

2 tbs honey

Method

  1. Add the oil to the wok and heat until the oil begins to shimmer.  Add the meat and brown for 3 minutes.
  2. Add the lemongrass, onion and chilli and cook for another two minutes.
  3. Add the vegetables and stirfry for about 5 minutes.
  4. Add the rest of the ingredients to a small jug.  Mix to combine and then pour into the wok.  Stir to coat the meat and vegetables in the sauce.  As soon as the sauce is combined serve with steamed rice.

 

 

Leave a comment